february readings

February 4, 2007

The Patron Saint of Red Chevys by Kay Sloan

I started this book the end of January but should be done by the end of this week.  This is definately a light, easy read to accompany your lunch if you have nothing better to do but read.

It is a surprisingly nice read, I enjoy how smoothly and well written the author penned this novel.  I am not a big fan of heavily worded novels except for Stephen King and we all know how long it takes to read King’s work.  So anytime I get a chance to read something fast and easy, I usually read it for lunch. 

 It takes place in the old south Mississippi of the early 60’s, so far I am about 2/3 of a way through it and I am not quite sure how it will end.  The first 1/3 of it is a nice entertaining read about this girl and her familia.  The second 1/3 of it is about the same girl but all grown up in her college years in Berkely which is very amusing to read. The final 1/3 of this book is a nice complimentary ending to tie in the first 2/3 of this book.

The author’s style reminds me of Jack Kerouac.

My final recommendation: 4 out of 5 stars

Lisey’s Story by Stephen King

My all-time favorite author, who has penned many a book that has put me to sleep countless nights over the years, including spell-binding nights where I fall asleep in the wee dawn.  He churned out another gigantic volumne that no doubt will take me a few months to finish reading it as I only have time to read it for an half hour at night in bed.

So far it’s up to his standard of style.  It is not quite riveting yet as I am only in the first 1/4 of the book.  However it is amusing because he chose an author’s wife to be the main character of his story.  I wonder how much his wife enjoyed this book?

This review will be finished when I finish the book…

Finished reading the book last week.  It is definately one of his more cleaner works as it was not too far-fetched or too grossed out for sensitive readers.  I definately would read this book again.

My final recommendation : 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

